Committee members

Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC)

Prof D du Toit (Chairperson)
Head: Department of Biomedical Sciences
Faculty of Health Sciences
Tshwane University of Technology
Tel: (012) 382-6306/082-908-2493
E-mail: dutoitd@tut.ac.za
View Biosketch
 
Prof Carl Lombard
Consultant: Biostatistics Unit
Email: carl.lombard@mrc.ac.za
Ms Sumaya Behardien
Legal Services
SAMRC Cape Town
Tel.: 021-938-0657
Email: sumaya.behardien@mrc.ac.za
View Biosketch
 
Dr Andre Loxton 
Centre for Tuberculosis
Advocate Janet Early  
Practicing advocate of the High Court
Mr Goodman Makanda  
Community member
Dr Harriet Etheredge
Wits Donald Gordon Medical Centre
Dr Edward Nicol  
Burden of Disease Research Unit
Prof Andre Kengne
Director: NCD Research Unit
Email: andre.kengne@mrc.ac.za
 
Prof Charles Wiysonge  
Director: SA Cochrane Centre
Ms Mimmy Ledwaba
Community member Pretoria
 
 

Ethics Committee for Research on Animals (ECRA)

Dr Liana Maree (Chairperson)
Lecturer: Dept Medical Bioscience
University of the Western Cape
021-959 2917
083 556 1496
Dr Gerald Chege
Specialist Scientist
PUDAC
SAMRC
Cape Town
021-9380672
gerald.chege@mrc.ac.za
View Biosketch
 
Ms Erika Vercuiel
National Inspector
Research Ethics Unit
National Council of SPCA’s
PO Box 1320
ALBERTON, 1450
011-907 3590/1/2/3: 079 879 9043
animalethics@nspca.co.za
View Biosketch
 
Mrs Joritha van Heerden
Research Technologist
PUDAC
SAMRC
Cape Town
021-9380505
 
Dr Christo Muller
BRIP
SAMRC
PO Box 19070
TYGERBERG, 7505
021-938 0824
christo.muller@mrc.ac.za
View Biosketch
 
Mr Ivan Koopman
Community Member
021-9495292
Dr Willemien van Wyk
Veterinarian: Kenridge Animal Hospital
Exotic Animal Hospital at Panorama
082 7885 590
vanwykwillemien@gmail.com
View Biosketch
 
Mr Goodman Makanda
Community Member
078 083 6068
Dr Chesa Chauke
Director: PUDAC
SAMRC
Cape Town
021-938 0369
chesa.chauke@mrc.ac.za
View Biosketch