South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Building a healthy nation through research and innovation

space

Non-communicable Diseases Research Unit


 
 


Terms and Conditions
to visit this site

Contact details  

Cape Town
Francie van Zijl Drive, Parow Valley, Cape Town;
PO Box 19070, Tygerberg, 7505, South Africa;
Durban
491 Peter Mokaba Ridge, Overport, Durban, 4001, South Africa;

Andre Kengne, MD, DSCS, PhD
Unit Director
Tel: +27 21 938 0841
Email: andre.kengne@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Cardiovascular and metabolic diseases epidemiology and prevention.

Andre Kengn

Mieke Faber, PhD
Chief Senior Specialist Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0816
Email: mieke.faber@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Assessment of dietary intake, the food environment affecting dietary intake, dietary quality within the context of food and nutrition security, and food-based strategies for improved nutrition, particularly in infants and young children.

Julia Goedecke, BSc, BScMedHons (Nutrition and Dietetics), PhD (Exercise Science)
Senior Specialist Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0862
E-mail: julia.goedecke@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Ethnic disparities in obesity and cardio-metabolic risk.

Julia Goedecke

Paul van Jaarsveld, BSc, BScHons (Biochemistry), MSc (Biochemistry), PhD (Biochemistry)
Senior Specialist Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0261
E-mail: paul.vanjaarsveld@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Essential fatty acid status in relation to lipid profile and anthropometric status over a wide range of dietary intake.

Paul van Jaarsveld

Lize van Stuijvenberg (van Blerk), BSc; BScHons; MSc (Nutritional physiology), PhD (Micronutrient deficiencies)
Senior Specialist Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0264
E-mail: lize.van.stuijvenberg@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Nutritional deficiencies and/or excesses, particularly of micronutrients, in early life and ways to address these at public health level. Research aims to confirm, challenge or inform existing or future nutritional policies.

Lize van Stuijvenberg

Nasheeta Peer, MBChB (Natal), MBA (UCT), MPH (UCT), PhD (UCT) - Durban
Specialist Scientist
Tel: +27 31 203 4882
E-mail: nasheeta.peer@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Cardiovascular disease and diabetes epidemiology, and health systems research.

Nasheeta Peer

Anniza De Villiers, PhD
Senior Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0840
E-mail: anniza.devilliers@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Childhood obesity; School health environment; Qualitative research methodology and data analysis.

Anniza De Villiers

Jillian Hill, B.Psych, MPH, PhD (Public Health)
Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0811
E-mail: jillian.hill@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Food Environment, Healthy Lifestyles and NCD Prevention. Her interests lies in community participatory research and project evaluation.

Jillian Hill

Cindy George, BSc (Human Life Sciences); BMedScHons; MScMedSc; PhD (Medical Physiology)
Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0842
E-mail: cindy.george@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Epidemiology of the major non-communicable diseases in Africa, with particular interest in chronic kidney disease.

Cindy George

Muyunda Buwa, PhD (Medical Biosciences)
Scientist
Tel: +27 21 938 0806
E-mail: muyunda.mutemwa@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Prevalence, awareness, treatment and control of chronic non-communicable disease risk factors, particularly hypertension, in patients with HIV.

Muyunda Buwa

Fatima Hoosen, BSc (Dietetics), M (Nutrition)
PhD intern
Tel: +27 21938 0220
E-mail: fatima.hoosen@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Focus of current PhD is a weight loss intervention for overweight/obese educators.

Fatima Hoosen

Kim Nguyen, MSc (Medical Doctor in Viet Nam), MPhil in MCH (Maternal and Child Health)
PhD student
Tel: +27 21 938 0807
E-mail: kim.nguyen@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Epidemiology and prevention of cardio-metabolic diseases in individuals living with HIV.

Kim Nguyen

Johanna van Wyk
Research Technologist
Tel: +27 21 938 0409
E-mail: Johanna.van.wyk@mrc.ac.za or jvwyk@mrc.ac.za

Research focus: Lipid and fatty acid analysis in different sample matrixes. Student training in lipid extraction and fatty acid analysis. Research support to internal scientist in different projects.

Johanna van Wyk
Deborah Jonathan
Chief Research Nurse
Tel: +27 21 938 0802
E-mail: deborah.jonathan@mrc.ac.za
Deborah Jonathan
Erica April
Senior Research Technician
Tel: +27 21 938 0839
E-mail: erica.april@mrc.ac.za
Erica April
Tania Witbooi
Senior Officer
Tel: +27 21 938 0805
E-mail: tania.witbooi@mrc.ac.za
Tania Witbooi
Contact the Webmaster
Last updated:
6 March, 2017
 Developed by Corporate & Marketing Communications, South African Medical Research Council
   Intranet login