South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Building a healthy nation through research and innovation


The South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC) was established in 1969 with the aim to deliver on a mandate to promote the improvement of the health and the quality of life of the population of our country through research, development and technology transfer.

The scope of the SAMRC’s research includes basic laboratory investigations, clinical research and public health studies.  Research at the SAMRC focuses on the ten highest causes of mortality in South Africa and includes TB, HIV, chronic diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, and women’s health.


Visit the Awards Website to Nominate

  • Latest News
  • Calendar: Meetings & Events
  • SAMRC Merit Awards

The South African Medical Research Council strongly supports excellence in health research and has established a set of medal awards to recognise world-class science.

The Awards are among South Africa’s most prestigious and are dedicated to contributions to health research in South Africa.


arrow Second International Symposium: ICF Education, Cape Town, 30 June 2017
arrow PHASA Conference 2017, 4 - 7 September 2017, Gauteng, South Africa
arrow Global Evidence Summit, Cape Town, 13 - 16 September 2017
arrow SVRI Forum 2017, 18 - 21 September 2017, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Google: Yahoo: MSN:
Disclaimer: SAMRC is a research organisation and does not provide medical advice
Contact the Webmaster
Last updated: 20 April, 2017
Developed by Corporate & Marketing Communications, South African Medical Research Council
   Intranet login
Connect with us!
SA Dept of Health
SA Dept of Science and Technology