South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Building a healthy nation through research and innovation

Media Release

11 December 2015  

Renowned SAMRC scientists honoured for their contribution to health research

Three South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC) researchers have been elected as new members to prestigious science Academies.

SAMRC President Professor Glenda Gray has been elected fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS), a pan-African organization that recognizes individuals who have reached the highest level of excellence in their field of expertise and have made contributions to the advancement of their field on the continent.

Professor Glenda Gray is a trained Paediatrician and an NRF A rated scientist. She holds a host of accolades including the Nelson Mandela Health and Human Rights Award for pioneering work done in the field of Mother-to-Child Transmission of HIV-1 as well as the Order of Mapungubwe which was granted to her by the president of South Africa.   

“I am delighted by the announcement of Professor Glenda Gray as a Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS) as this enables her to further share her wealth of scientific expertise and leadership to the African continent.  It is a wonderful affirmation of a brilliant South African scientist who has made notable scientific and policy contributions on the African continent notably in the fields of reducing mother to child transmission and HIV vaccine development”, said Vice-President of the African Academy of Sciences, Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim. “Professor Gray epitomises the excellence of women scientists in Africa and she will undoubtedly serve as an inspiring role model for young scientists on the continent. We look forward to her contributions to strengthen and advance the goals of the AAS”, the Vice-President concluded. 

This year, the SAMRC also saw Unit Directors Professor Angela Mathee and Professor Gita Ramjee joining South Africa’s leading scientists as new members of ASSAF. The Academy of Science South Africa (ASSAf) is the official science academy of the country and its core function is to honour the country’s most outstanding scholars by electing them to Membership of the institution.

Professor Gita Ramjee is Unit Director at the SAMRC’s HIV Prevention Research Unit. Her pioneering work in HIV prevention has earned her a Fellowship of Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh. She has also recently been conferred with a Clinical Professorship in the Department of Global Health in the School of Medicine at the University of Washington. 

Professor Angela Mathee is Unit Director at the Environment and Health Research Unit. Her unit conducts population-based research on environmental risks to health, with special emphasis on those living in poverty.  She was recently recognised by the National department of Health (NDoH) for her contribution to Environmental Health Programmes in the country and was nominated, by the Department of Environmental Affairs to participate on the steering committee of its Researcher’s Forum.

More information on Professors Ramjee and Mathee is available on the official website of the SAMRC.

Media Facilitation:  
Keletso Ratsela
Media Strategist
Tel: +27 76 0939 185
Contact the Webmaster
Last updated:
29 February, 2016
 Developed by Corporate & Marketing Communications, South African Medical Research Council
   Intranet login