South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Building a healthy nation through research and innovation

Media statement

16 April 2014

SAMRC opens nomination call for country’s top medical scientists

The South African Medical Research Council is seeking nominations for the MRC Scientific Merit Awards 2014. Nominations opened 15 April and close on the 31st of May 2014.

The revitalized MRC will, once again, acknowledge the country’s leading medical scientists with Platinum, Gold, Silver and Lifetime Achievement medals at a prestigious awards ceremony in October 2014.

The awards, rekindled last year after a thirteen-year hiatus, aim to honor medical scientists whose work has had a monumental impact on health science in South Africa and continues to contribute to the improvement of health in the country. 

The MRC Platinum Medal for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to accomplished scientists for outstanding lifetime scientific achievement in the field of health while the MRC Gold Medals are conferred on senior researchers who have made seminal scientific contributions. MRC Silver Medals are awarded to researchers who have made substantial contributions to capacity building in medical research in South Africa.  

Last year’s winners include two internationally renowned South African clinical scientists Professor Shabir Madhi and Professor Eric Bateman who were both conferred Platinum Medals for major contributions to medical research both nationally and globally.

The MRC 2013 Gold medal was awarded to Professor Andre Pascal Kengne and Professor Keertan Dheda in recognition for their ground-breaking scientific contributions that have impacted on health; whilst the Silver medals were awarded to Professors Graeme Meintjes, Kelly Chibale, Naeemah Abrahams and Dr Tanya Doherty. The prestigious President’s Award for exceptional contribution to medical research was awarded to Professor Malegapuru William Makgoba.

The 2014 MRC Scientific Merit awards will acknowledge the excellence the country has achieved in the field of health science research.

For more information on nominations, please visit: before the nomination closing date.

Technical Enquiries
Thabi Maitin
Tel: +27 21 938 0891

Media Facilitation
Aziel Gangerdine
Head of Corporate Communications
South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Tel: +27 21 938 0697; Mobile: +27 71 866 9887

Contact the Webmaster
Last updated:
29 February, 2016
 Developed by Corporate & Marketing Communications, South African Medical Research Council
   Intranet login